View map

Col. Jason K. Fettig, conducting

Anchoring this performance are beloved works of two masters: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s “Turkish” Violin Concerto and Jean Sibelius’ dramatic and heroic Second Symphony. Featured alongside these masterpieces is the contemporary music of a young composer you likely do not yet know. Front and center in this performance is the world première of SiHyun Uhm’s Yearning, the winner of the Marine Band’s inaugural Call for Scores, held in 2022. Her piece was selected from more than 100 submissions for its compelling form, shimmering beauty, and remarkable use of the sound and expressive qualities of the string orchestra.

  • UHM | Yearning - world première
  • MOZART | Violin Concerto No. 5 in A, K. 219, “Turkish”- SSgt Ryo Usami, soloist
  • SIBELIUS | Symphony No. 2 in D, Opus 43

Event Details

  • Yashira Clavel
  • S
  • Luis Gamboa Teran
  • Rana Ibrahim

4 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity